The Hunt for a Happy Ending

So after my last posting I froze. That’s why I’ve been away for a week. I feel like I opened up a can of controversal worms and I was terrified. The controversy, minorities and the lack there of in literature and the arts. My soul shakes with the possibility of truth on this subject. My first inclination is to apologize. To bow my head and say, “No, I’m sorry, I shouldn’t have said that. Everyone is conveyed equally in literature and the media!” but I won’t do that. The fear  in me shouts I am on to something. So I’m going to push the envelope. But I will also inform and research. I’m going to put my money where my mouth is. I am going to put minority artists out there.

Went into a bookstore today, Women’s and Children’s First in Chicago, and got this book: Love Medicine by Louise Erdrich

(From the book jacket)
“The stunning first novel in Louise Erdich’s Native American series, Love Medicine tells the story of two families, the Kashpaws and the Lamartines.  Written in Erdrich’s uniquely poetic, powerful style, it is a multi-generational portrait of strong men and women caught in an unforgettable drama of anger, desire, and the healing power that is love medicine.”
I am excited! A story written from a Native American perspective! Don’t see that a lot. Started reading it. It’s a bit heavy, so we’ll see how this one goes. My book club is on August 7th. So far the novel is eloquently written, very sad, but well written. It seems here is another depressed minority character, but I’m sure it’s a good read. I’ll keep you posted.  Read it with me! We can discuss over the blogosphere, and you too will be supporting different point of views in literature and the arts. 😉 -A. Black-Writer
4 thoughts on “The Hunt for a Happy Ending

  1. I went into three bookshops over the weekend – no Louise Erdrich on their shelves at all. Though, I did end up buying another book (‘Death of the Heart’ by Elizabeth Bowen), which has started off with amazing detail and observation, and there is something painful with the central character. It seems that she is surrounded by people who live very comfortably in their own world and have no capacity to understand her. I have ordered ‘Love Medicine’ and look forward to getting into that. I did read a brilliant interview by Erdrich some months ago on the Paris Review Website – check it out. I don’t know what happened between then and now, because I definitely felt that I wanted to read her work after that interview, but I guess I got sidetracked. So, thanks for the reminder!

    1. Oh! I’m so excited you ordered the book!!! So I will first start off by saying A-MAZ-ING! the book was so good! but I will leave it at that because I am interested in seeing what you think 🙂 Don’t want to bring your expectations so high just to be tumbled down to a heap of disappointment. Now this book you are reading, Death of the Heart, I really want to read that! when you said she is surrounded by poeple who live very comfortably in their own world and have no capacity to understand her, I totally understand that! I am contemplating if I should read another one of the book club books for this month or read this! Well, here, since you are reading Love Medicine, I will pick up this book and read it and we can discuss. So exciting. By the way, I agree about the connections made online. I’m am quite surprised by it myself. I look forward to having you as a writing friend, or a friend period. 🙂 -Andrea

  2. Glad that you enjoyed the book. I’ll wait to read it before I check out your post. I do recommend the Bowen book, it’s got some lovely humour, but also moving detail on how the heart works when those who are alone finally find someone to change all that. I haven’t got to the tragic part yet. I’m going to spend the weekend working on a post for monday, inspired by the olympics, so I’ll see if I have some time in between that and the sunshine. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

